Not a pretty sight

It’s funny how all the threads of my journey come together again in this sponsored ‘headshave for Haiti’ project. 2 weeks on I am grappling with identity issues that hark back a long way…

Headshave for Haiti

It’s almost 2 weeks since my head was shaved and I haven’t been able to write anything about it until now. In fact, it struck me this morning that I first used the name “Redhead” to hide my true identity when publishing the story about my mother’s death on-line in 2009 (you can read ‘Byllie’ here) before it went on to find permanence as my nom de plume on a poetry site set up in the Spring of 2013 with fellow wordsmith Ray (find Ray & Redhead here). So it’s not really surprising that giving up the RED has had an effect on my writing!

However, there is a lot more to it than that and it’s taken me a while to process – wordless reactions, unforeseen emotions, unknown territory. At last today the computer screen takes it’s old, familiar place once more as a friend who’ll sit…

View original post 999 more words

About Sally Ann

True-story teller - words and pictures
This entry was posted in Something to say. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Not a pretty sight

  1. Sally Ann says:

    Reblogged this on Longing to escape… and commented:

    Identity issues are hitting the blogosphere again. Something else to long to escape from?

Leave a Reply

