Sink or swim

Looking up from underneath
Fractured moonlight on the sea,
Reflections still look the same to me
As before I went under

And it’s peaceful in the deep
Cathedral where you cannot breathe,
No need to pray, no need to speak,
Now I am under

And it’s breaking over me,
A thousand miles down to the sea bed,
Found the place to rest my head…

Never let me go, never let me go
Never let me go, never let me go

And the arms of the ocean are carrying me
And all this devotion was rushing over me,
And the crushes are heavy for a sinner like me
But the arms of the ocean deliver me.

Though the pressure’s hard to take
It’s the only way I can escape,
It seems a heavy choice to make
But now I am under

And it’s breaking over me
A thousand miles down to the sea bed,
Found the place to rest my head…

Never let me go, never let me go

And the arms of the ocean are carrying me
And all this devotion was rushing over me,
And the crushes are heavy for a sinner like me
But the arms of the ocean deliver me.

And it’s over and I’m going under,
But I’m not giving up, I’m just giving in…

Oooh – slipping underneath, oooh – so cold and so sweet…

In the arms of the ocean, so sweet and so cold,
And all this devotion well I never knew at all,
And the crushes are heaven for a sinner released
And the arms of the ocean deliver me.

Never let me go, never let me go
Never let me go, never let me go

Deliver me

Never let me go, never let me go
Never let me go, never let me go

Deliver me

Never let me go, never let me go
Never let me go, never let me go

Deliver me

Never let me go, never let me go
Never let me go, never let me go

And it’s over and I’m going under,
But I’m not giving up, I’m just giving in…

‘Never let me go’ by Florence and the Machine, from the album Ceremonials. Listen here

About Sally Ann

True-story teller - words and pictures
This entry was posted in Just a photo, Prayer, Quotable quotes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sink or swim

  1. Paul Leader says:

    I love this song too. There is so much of the eternal in what Florence sings about. This song is also a personal fave.

Leave a Reply

