The cost of compulsive gambling

My son, Lord – my heart

My big mouth.

I am turned inside-out,

Inner workings exposed to the light

A compulsion, an exhibition…

There’s no privacy in this family!

Dirty linen, warts and all,

No secret anguish undeclared.

.

My cards are seen

I don’t know if I win or lose

The stakes are high –

I’ve yet to see the hand You hold

.

It’s all I have – it’s all I am

I’m walking in the light… so cover me!

About Sally Ann

True-story teller - words and pictures
This entry was posted in Poetry, Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The cost of compulsive gambling

  1. mollie woolliscroft says:

    SallyAnn your heart is so big and caring don’t beat yourself up about the things you say and think. You are the most open person I know and that makes you the most vunerable person I know as well. I owe so much to you I wish I could take your pain away. But all I can do from here is to pray that God will give you the strength, the courage and the rest that you need. You are in my thoughts and prayers everyday.

Leave a Reply

