A thousand words

It doesn’t really count as a post, but I just want this photograph to speak for itself…  I have a couple of drafts on the go, but until the water laps around my legs, until I fill my lungs with air and rediscover peace… those posts will have to wait.  The roller-coaster of our lives has left me high and dry – I cannot speak, I cannot make sense of it all today.

long time ago, back in September 2010 – I once posted just a photo, nothing more.  I know that there are blogs now where you can do just that every day… an image can convey so much beauty and feeling.  Maybe I’ll take to doing that? I have so many lovely pictures I could use… 😉  They say ‘a picture’s worth a thousand words’ – I imagine every painter and photographer knows that!

I love beauty: I need that soul serenity… sometimes it helps much more than language can.  In fact when I wrote So beautiful! about our holiday I omitted to include the quote we’d found in our Italian hotel. Apparently Fyodor Dostoevsky said (and I translate) “Humanity can live without science, can live without bread; only without beauty it cannot live – because then there would be nothing in the world to do”.  He was a writer too and not a visual communicator, but we all have some idea of what he means… Art and nature have spiritual qualities that give us meaning and a deeper understanding, a sense of purpose and of life.

I hope this hits the spot for you today: this is my favourite beach in all the world. I wish I was there now…

When I am down and, oh my soul, so weary;
When troubles come and my heart burdened be;
Then, I am still and wait here in the silence,
Until you come and sit awhile with me…

You raise me up, so I can stand on mountains;
You raise me up, to walk on stormy seas;
I am strong, when I am on your shoulders;
You raise me up… To more than I can be.

‘You raise me up’ by Westlife.  We sang it at my choir today and I cried.  But when that ‘raising’ happens once again, there will be more words  – and pictures.

About Sally Ann

True-story teller - words and pictures
This entry was posted in Favourite places, Just a photo, Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A thousand words

  1. Here’s to the well being refilled, sight being restored and many hours of soul refreshing laughter and stillness. R xxxx

  2. Angie Tinnion says:

    “Good news to Zion! Shout aloud -‘Here is your God! He rules with His powerful arms! He is a tender Shepherd, gathers His lambs gently and holds them close to His heart’ ”

    I know it is a change of metaphor but I thought about this in relation to us being draped across His shoulders , when ,even in those times when we need to be carried we can especially hear His heartbeat.
    “I am strong when I am on His shoulders……”

Leave a Reply

