You too

I was lost between the midnight and the dawning
In a place of no consequence or company
3:33 when the numbers fell off the clock face
Speed-dialling with no signal at all

“Go, shout it out, rise up,
Escape yourself, and gravity!
Hear Me, cease to speak that I may speak,
Shush now,
Force quit and move to trash”

I was right there at the top of the bottom
On the edge of the known universe where I wanted to be
I had driven to the scene of the accident
And I sat there, waiting for me

“Restart and reboot yourself,
You’re free to go
Shout for joy if you get the chance!
Password, you, enter here, right now,
You know your name so punch it in!
Hear Me, cease to speak that I may speak
Shush now
Don’t move or say anything…”

Unknown Caller by U2 from No Line on the Horizon

This is a song about a night-time encounter.  ‘Unknown Caller’ is what comes up on an iPhone when someone who is not in your contacts list rings up; ”speed dialling with no signal’ at 3:33 surely has to refer to the famous verse known as ‘God’s telephone number’:

“Call to Me and I will answer you and tell you great and unsearchable things you do not know.” Jeremiah 3v33

Perhaps if anyone reading this has access to Bono we can confirm that 😉 Meanwhile the words will have to speak for themselves…

This is a prophetic song, a prophetic call, out there for anyone who has ears to hear.  God speaks through this song Hear Me, cease to speak that I may speak” “Don’t move or say anything” “Force quit and move to trash” (a term from Mac computers) – all of which could as well be rendered “Be still and know that I AM God” Psalm 46v10. It is a call to listen, to rise up, to enter in… Salvation and a new beginning is there: ‘restart and reboot yourself – you’re free to go’!  Acceptance and openness of access is there: your name is the password.  It’s a call into relationship, to leave behind the weights that hold us down. Out of a place of solitude in the night, the quiet of the in-between space ‘on the edge of the universe’, the recognition of failure at ‘the scene of the accident’ comes this commission to rise up and speak the message of hope and life! “Shout for joy if you get the chance!” I

If this is not prophetic language, I don’t know what is!  Here is an invitation to respond to the Unknown Caller’s message, perfectly expressed in a popular song which is heard by thousands across the world. It reminds me of Isaiah’s vision and commission, “Here am I, send me” (Isaiah 6). The prophet has himself answered the call and now others are being invited to do the same.

I have mentioned Bono in this context before in ‘Out from under your beds’ : I for one am convinced he is anointed for his international role… If you have any doubts listen to Magnificent, on this same album, which is his own Magnificat:

I was born, I was born to sing for you
I didn’t have a choice but to lift you up
And sing whatever song you wanted me to
I give you back my voice
From the womb my first cry
It was a joyful noise

Only love, only love can leave such a mark
But only love only love can heal such a scar
Justified till we die
You and I will magnify
Magnificent
, magnificent!

Its high praise and worship in the public place, declaration of truth and grace… the gospel. Great music too: if you haven’t already got ‘No Line on the Horizon’, I hear that Christmas is coming 😉

Shout for joy if you get the chance!


About Sally Ann

True-story teller - words and pictures
This entry was posted in Prophetic language, Quotable quotes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to You too

  1. Bob Ashe says:

    I like this Sally x

Leave a Reply

