The joy of the journey

Just because I’m losing, doesn’t mean I’m lost
Doesn’t mean I’ll stop, doesn’t mean I’m not cross

Just because I’m hurting, doesn’t mean I’m hurt
Doesn’t mean I didn’t get what I deserved, no better,  no worse

I just got lost, every river that I tried to cross
Every door I ever tried was locked
Oh and I’m just waiting til the shine wears off

You might be a big fish in a little pond
Doesn’t mean you’ve won, ’cause along may come a bigger one

And you’ll be lost, every river that you tried to cross
Every gun you ever held went off
Oh and I’m just waiting til the firing’s stopped
Oh and I’m just waiting til the shine wears off…

‘Lost’ by Coldplay

I love Coldplay – such memorable melodies with really thoughtful lyrics about love, life and death.  Their songs take you on a journey into your own heart and some tracks are beautifully life-affirming and joyful, especially on the last album Viva la Vida or Death and all his friends.  Singing about death? Yes:

No I don’t want to battle from beginning to end,
I don’t want to cycle or recycle revenge,
I don’t want to follow death and all of his friends!

‘Lost’ seems to be about dealing with failure.  Like David in many of the psalms we can look at others who are doing well in life and compare our own difficult situations: ‘Why do the wicked prosper?!”  But this song asserts that the seeds of failure are in every success story, so look out – ‘don’t gloat over me oh my enemy’ – because you never know when it may come upon you!  In his own loss and hurting the author is patiently waiting, not giving way to despair but containing himself to see how things will pan out… There is a lot of acceptance in it:  its the ‘for better, for worse’ of life.

As believers we know that there is a higher power at work and the Lord has all things under control.  We can have light on the darkest of journeys because He is with us and for us.  Nothing can separate us from His love: He will bring about justice in His way and time.  Come on, God!

Meanwhile, I won’t stop and yes, I am cross.  It is a place of incredible tension, to stand between suffering/loss and acceptance/hope… anger at the unfairness of life often rises.  But Jesus is such an example of how to walk this line: He lived out of peace and joy even though He knew He was a condemned man walking towards the Cross!   In the midst of the pain of life it is gratitude for every blessing and trust in the goodness of our Father  that makes life bearable – and the joy of the Lord that gives us strength to keep going.

About Sally Ann

True-story teller - words and pictures
This entry was posted in Life choices, Quotable quotes, Rejoicing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The joy of the journey

  1. Steve Lowton says:

    Great lyrics and wonderful photo! Who are they? 🙂

Leave a Reply

